Title photo
Think globally, microblog locally
Wed, 13 Jun 2018

11 Javascript utility libraries you should know in 2018 - Jonathan Saring/Bits and Pieces https://blog.bitsrc.io/11-javascript-utility-libraries-you-should-know-in-2018-3646fb31ade

Tue, 12 Jun 2018

Scripting News: I fear Google's control of the web http://scripting.com/2018/06/12/140329.html

RIP Macintosh: 1984–2018 | Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols/Computerworld https://www.computerworld.com/article/3280944/apple-mac/rip-macintosh-1984-2018.html

It looks like Google’s going to launch a podcast app - Shoshana Wodinsky/The Verge https://www.theverge.com/2018/6/12/17453006/google-podcast-app-launch

Compare Git hosting alternatives at GitComp https://gitcomp.com/

11 ways to speed up WordPress - Ahsan Parwez/CodeinWP https://www.codeinwp.com/blog/ways-to-speed-up-wordpress/

How to rinse your recyclables without wasting water - Nick Douglas/Lifehacker https://lifehacker.com/how-to-rinse-your-recyclables-without-wasting-water-1826764672

Mozilla: Our past work with Facebook - The Mozilla Blog https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2018/06/11/our-past-work-with-facebook/

Sun, 10 Jun 2018

Homeland Security’s massive new database will include face recognition, DNA, and people's 'non-obvious relationships' - Electronic Frontier Foundation https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2018/06/hart-homeland-securitys-massive-new-database-will-include-face-recognition-dna-and

Fri, 08 Jun 2018

Twenty years later, everything is the Truman Show - Julie Miller/Vanity Fair https://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2018/06/truman-show-anniversary-jim-carrey-peter-weir-laura-linney

The decline of the MacBook Pro - Danny Guo https://www.dannyguo.com/blog/the-decline-of-the-macbook-pro/

The bullshit-job boom: For more and more people, work appears to serve no purpose. Is there any good left in the grind? - Nathan Heller/The New Yorker https://www.newyorker.com/books/under-review/the-bullshit-job-boom

I can't believe that @ftrain's What is Code? article for Bloomberg is 3 years old. Best take on "modern" software development this decade https://www.bloomberg.com/graphics/2015-paul-ford-what-is-code/

Thu, 07 Jun 2018

It's easy to get to zero inbox when you 'delete all'

GitHub is Microsoft's .5 billion undo button - Paul Ford/Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-06/github-is-microsoft-s-7-5-billion-undo-button

Wed, 06 Jun 2018

Shields down: Happy people don't leave jobs they love - Rands in Repose http://randsinrepose.com/archives/shields-down/

Gitlab is not the only GitHub alternative | Hacker News https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=17252838

What does a gitea site look like? Look at Charles Reid's https://git.charlesreid1.com/explore/repos

Can Facebook be cut down to size? - The New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/2018/06/05/opinion/facebook-china-privacy-data-security.html

Why the Mac you know has no future - and what Apple might make instead when it blows up an aging platform - Jason Perlow/ZDNet https://www.zdnet.com/article/why-wwdc-2018-served-as-macs-death-sentence/

Gitea is a lightweight code hosting solution written in Go, and that means you get a binary that runs just about anywhere (and on anything) https://gitea.io/en-US/

Tue, 05 Jun 2018

Phabricator: GitHub and GitLab alternative. The project's slogan: Every application your project needs, all in one tool. https://www.phacility.com/phabricator/

Everyone complaining about Microsoft buying GitHub needs to offer a better solution - Peter Bright/Ars Technica https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2018/06/everyone-complaining-about-microsoft-buying-github-needs-to-offer-a-better-solution/

Twitter finally makes its way to the S&P 500 | AlphaStreet https://news.alphastreet.com/twitter-finally-makes-its-way-to-the-sp-500/

Want more time? Get rid of the easiest way to spend it (tl;dr: stop using social media on your phone) - Raptitude https://www.raptitude.com/2017/06/want-more-time-get-rid-of-the-easiest-way-to-spend-it/

Zach Tellman: On Composition - Clojure SYNC 2018 https://clojuresync.com/zach-tellman/

tl;dr: They use ARM chips - ASUS NovaGo, HP Envy x2 Always-Connected PCs now available at Microsoft Store | Windows Central https://www.windowscentral.com/asus-novago-hp-envy-x2-always-connected-pcs-now-available-microsoft-store

A MacBook Pro with 32GB of RAM might be about to launch – BGR http://bgr.com/2018/06/04/macbook-pro-2018-release-date-soon-specs-geekbench/

American tech giants are making life tough for startups - The Economist https://www.economist.com/business/2018/06/02/american-tech-giants-are-making-life-tough-for-startups

Hello, GitHub - Nat Friedman https://natfriedman.github.io/hello/

Apple jams Facebook's web-tracking tools - BBC News http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-44360273

Apple’s new product features are an admission of guilt | Casey Johnston/The Outline https://theoutline.com/post/4810/apples-new-product-features-are-an-admission-of-guilt

Mon, 04 Jun 2018

Microsoft + GitHub = Empowering Developers - The Official Microsoft Blog https://blogs.microsoft.com/blog/2018/06/04/microsoft-github-empowering-developers/

Sun, 03 Jun 2018

How 5G is going to make smartphones ugly again – BGR http://bgr.com/2018/06/02/5g-smartphones-release-date-cost-design/

Donald Trump: Could the US president pardon himself? - BBC News http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-40693249

Your home is under 'staggering levels of surveillance' - Jem Collins/The Essential https://inews.co.uk/news/technology/smart-homes-surviellance/

Learning Web development in 2018? Go with Lambda School - JJ Ashcraft/Hackernoon https://hackernoon.com/lambda-school-coding-bootcamps-86af85b7c3f7

A story of survival: New York’s last remaining independent bookshops - Hermione Hoby/The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/jun/02/new-york-remaining-independent-bookshops-booksellers-ungar-bohbot

Stripe is building a Ruby typechecker - Kristian Freeman/Byteconf https://medium.com/byteconf/stripe-is-building-a-ruby-typechecker-d6cd7cee6abf

Microsoft is said to have agreed to acquire GitHub - Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-03/microsoft-is-said-to-have-agreed-to-acquire-coding-site-github

Dockless bikes: Are they bad for station-based bike-sharing systems? - Alissa Walker/Curbed https://www.curbed.com/2018/5/30/17390264/bike-sharing-dockless-bicycles-cities

What can Aristotle teach us about the routes to happiness? - Edith Hall/Aeon https://aeon.co/essays/what-can-aristotle-teach-us-about-the-routes-to-happiness

Sat, 02 Jun 2018

How WIRED Lost ,000 in Bitcoin https://www.wired.com/story/wired-lost-bitcoin

YAKS - Comments for your static websites https://yaks.it/

Why some scientists say physics has gone off the rails - Dan Falk/NBC https://www.nbcnews.com/mach/science/why-some-scientists-say-physics-has-gone-rails-ncna879346

Stop calling them 'social': Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, et al are the new mainstream media - Mary McNamara http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/tv/la-et-mcnamara-social-media-20180602-story.html

Fri, 01 Jun 2018

Microsoft and GitHub have held acquisition talks - Business Insider http://www.businessinsider.com/2-billion-startup-github-could-be-for-sale-microsoft-2018-5